Letterings

I recently bought a book about hand made type, and since then I’ve been very fascinated by the art of creating type by hand.  Coincidentally, I’ve stumbled upon some amazing designers who create beautiful letters using their own amazing ways.  I’d like to share my two most favourite out of the bunch.

First up is Dana Tanamachi – I’m sure lots of you would have seen her works, but every time I look at them, I am still amazed like the first time.  Here is a time-lapse video of her doing her stuff:

I love how the transience of it (because it can be rubbed of easily) adds to its beauty – isn’t everything more attractive when it only lasts for a while?

Next is Sasha Prood – below is just two of her many amazing letterings and illustrations.  Every time I look at her works, I go “I wish I could draw like that!”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

*images are from her website*

Now, I’ll go do some lettering!  😛

Leave a Reply

